Sunday, 26 June 2011

Goodfellas (26.06.11)

Not usually my cup of tea, but 'Goodfellas' was surprisingly entertaining. The 1990 gangster film directed by Martin Scorsese started off slowly and similar to every other gangster film ever shot, ever. But as the story and characters develop, the film became something brilliant. The story was superbly told, and its easy to see why the film is famous for its camerawork. Most noticeably, the corridor/back entrance one-shots looked stunning.

Definitely worth checking out.

Rating: 7/10

Thursday, 23 June 2011


Sorry for the delay recently, funny story..

Not really, new computer, lost the password.... fun stuff like that.

Anyway, Back to regular blogging next week!

Thursday, 2 June 2011

Pokémon: The First Movie (2.06.11)

Yes i know its juvenile and outdated, but that's why i love it. Once i got past the overwhelmingly face-meltingy nostalgia, i could actually concentrate on trying to criticize the film. This was surprisingly difficult. I couldn't criticize the voice acting, because it was brilliant, I couldn't criticize the story, because it was astoundingly absorbing. I couldn't even criticize the animation, because it looked fantastic. Perhaps even, super effective. *bad pun grin*

I miss being part of the demographic this was made for. Those few years were so much better than now. But for an hour and a half, i got to relive those precious years.

Rating: 9.5/10 (still a little nostalgia blinded)

Tuesday, 31 May 2011

The Truman Show (31.5.11)

The Truman Show, a brilliant movie that explores the idea of one's reality being nothing more than a behemoth of a reality television show. Starring a fantastic Jim Carey, the movie was not only entertaining, but also thought provoking. There was not a dull moment throughout, a couple of annoying continuity errors though, but i doubt anyone would notice. Acting - fan-bloody-tastic. Dialog - perfect and consistently entertaining. Camerawork - a couple scenes could have been improved, but for the most part - pretty good.

Definitely check it out!

Rating 8/10

Monday, 30 May 2011

Bioshock (30.5.11)

Whats that? We do video games too? Crazy right!?

Bioshock (in my case on the xbox 360) was surprisingly epic. Like completely mind-blowingly-holy-fucking-balls! From steady character development, clever dialog, an intriguing story and insanely awesome graphics.

*opens up amazon... orders bioshock 2* Lets hope it lives up to number one.

Rating 9.5/10

Youth In Revolt (30.5.11)

Oh. OH. Cera.. Genuinely didn't see it in him. What a kick ass performance! The movie itself was well written and fluid, the acting was mostly fair. But, this film was not made with exceptional acting in mind, the movie was meant to be fun. And that it was! The dialog was hilarious and unexpectedly was not slapstick. Thank Christ.

Rating 8/10

First review. Here goes nothing.

"Three teenagers are confined to an isolated country estate that could very well be on another planet..."

'Dogtooth' is a brilliantly crafted foreign piece by Yorgos Lanthimos, the story of an family isolated by the father and their reactions to the bizarre fantastical world creeping in.  The film has some beautiful scenes and perfectly written dialog for rational characters in an irrational situation. However, the film itself can be quite slow at times, but even the slower scenes are simply fascinating. The acting was exceptional. Overall, brilliant piece of work that certainly deserves the many awards it received.

Rating: 7.5 / 10